“They just don’t …… like they used to”    “Things aren’t like they used to be.”  I’ve heard this time and time again from people older than myself.  I always questioned if things really were that different or this was just age dreaming of a youth gone by.  So now I’m the person older than..  I will turn 56 this year.  I do not feel older than those around me but the fact is that I am.  So as I look at the subject of my Blog today, I have to ask,  “Have things really changed or is this me wistfully dreaming of a time gone by that never really existed?”  I will leave that for you to decide.

 

Who owns it?  I really don’t know anymore.  Everyone seems to not want to take ownership of anything.  They seem to spend most of their time complaining about why they are unable to take ownership of their lives.  They ramble on and on about how they have no control.

This seems to be a growing trend.  More and more people feel they have no control.  They are the entitlement generation.  Everyone else owes the something.  The problem is that with everyone waiting on what others owe them, there is no one else left to give it to them.  What happens then?  People are spending tremendous time and ability, rationalizing why they are owed.

This was not the case of generations past.  After WWII people adopted “The American Dream” which stated if you worked hard and make a good effort, you could own the three bedroom house with the white picket fence and drive a new car.  It came true for most.  They were able to achieve this dream.  They worked hard, saved their money and took  control of their lives.  The key is “TOOK CONTROL”.  They refused to let obstacles stop them.  Obstacles were things to be solved, not reasons to give up.

Not so now.  Obstacles are an excuse to stop trying.  A reason to stop working and stay home.  What they do not seem to realize is that “home” is that new three bedroom house their parents bought.  Instead of working and saving to buy that home they have spent their time explaining why others owe them that home and living in the tiny one bedroom apartment.

So where does this all lead?  I guess eventually, when everyone becomes a victim and there is no one left to blame, they will get it.  They will realize that the only person responsible, the only person to blame is themselves.  My fear is when we get that far their will be no way back.

Just Saying…

TODD

ps.  What do you think?  Is this really getting worse or is this just the rambling of someone from a time before?  Are things worse than they were then or are they just different, no better, no worse?  I would like to hear from you.  

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

