leaves

For those of you as old as I, you will probably remember the Heinz Ketchup commercial that used Carly Simon’s song Anticipation in the background.

Anticipation.

I am sitting here, looking out my window at a light mist and the leaves falling from the trees. That’s a picture out my window above.

My mind wanders. They are predicting snow tomorrow.  I’m so excited for snow to come.  It’s a week before Christmas and I look forward to our visit from Santa Claus for my son Daven.  The economy seems to be turning, oil prices are rising and it looks like business is going to turn around after a two- year drought. That’s really exciting.

Anticipation.

Anticipation motivates and gives us something to work toward.  It drives us and gives us a reason to get up each day.  Anticipation is a good thing?

As all of these things run through my mind, I pause and look back out the window. The tress are brown and yellow, orange and red.  They really are beautiful.  Those leaves, float down in an almost dancing motion, swaying left and ride as they ride the invisible wind down.  It really is am amazing view.  I almost missed it.  It is a moment I will never get back.  As I began moving ahead in my mind, anticipating the future, I almost missed the present.  I didn’t see the colors and the beauty of right now.  I was becoming so wrapped up in what MIGHT BE that I almost missed the wonder of what IS.

It is often said, “Do not live in the past”.  We should learn form the past but not dwell on it.  We should take the lessons from the past and apply them to our lives today, but not get wrapped up in them.

The future and anticipation are no different.  It’s good to have hope. It’s important to plan.  It’s invigorating to anticipate the future, BUT not at the cost of today.  Today might be all we have. If you knew today was your last day on earth, would you spend it thinking about tomorrow.  Unless your thinking of the here after, I really doubt it.  Today is the gift your given.  This minute in life is the only thing you have, it is and will never be again.

Take the lessons from the past, plan for the future but LIVE TODAY.

If you will excuse me, I’m going to go outside and enjoy my back yard.

Just Saying….

TODD

Beau 1 - Copy

 

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

