vacation

The British call going on vacation, “On Holiday”.  I really like that.  It sounds so much more fun than vacation. The picture above is Chevy Chase from National Lampoon’s movie Vacation.  One of the greats in my book

I am actually on vacation this week, and no I’m not headed for Wally World.  I do not take many vacations but this week is one.  The great part is I love my job so that I really don’t need vacations.  Most of my vacations entail a long list of projects around the house, which is exactly what I’m doing this week.  With a five-year old and work the projects seem to stack up to the point I need to take time off work to get them done.  I can’t say I like the work but I do love the sense of accomplishment when they are finished.

As I said, I don’t really feel I need to “get away from work”.  I am still working this week from 6am until 7a, just to stay up on what is going on and not facing that underwhelming feeling when I return the next week.  Most people think I am crazy but I know I will appreciate it next week when I return from “Holiday”

The important point is how wonderful it is to have a job that I feel like this.  I blogged about it just a few weeks ago, you spend so much time at your job, what a treat it is to love the time you are there.  So this Blog is a Thank You.  A Thank You for all the reason I feel this way about my job.

The first Thank You is a big one to my BOSS.  Our CEO, Cheryl is also my wife.  Working with your spouse can be difficult but it isn’t for me.  Cheryl is great to work for, even if you’re not her husband.  First and foremost she cares for her staff.  They are her family and she treats us that way.  She encourages fun.  She challenges you to find better ways and always maintain quality.  She allows me autonomy to get the job done, my way but always makes sure I don’t stray from the priorities that need to be addressed.  She keeps you on the straight and narrow path while allowing you to be yourself.  Thanks Boss!

My second thank you is to my management colleagues.  Every one of them really cares deeply for their jobs and for Ebsco.  They take ownership and do what ever it takes.  They support me in my projects (sometimes called windmills after Don Quixote).  They know their jobs and are always there to lend support in yours.  They are a fun group and they make it enjoyable.  They would do anything for one another.  They are all great leaders and would be the envy of any business.

My last thank you is to the Ebsco Team.  What a group of men and women.  They all care and it shows in their work.  They are opened to change and also support my projects as they develop.  We share stories of our families and life outside of work.  I know most of them personally and they all know me.  They work hard and produce some of the best quality in the industry.  They are opened to change.  We recently launched a major 5S campaign and they have enthusiastically got on board.  Not what you would encounter at most businesses.

So to sum it all up.

THANK YOU EBSCO you make work FUN!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go to my garage and start “vacationing”.

Just Saying……

Todd

Todd

 

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

