beach-boys-getty1

“Good, Good, Good,…Good Vibrations”

I was fortunate to see The Beach Boys in concert this last Thursday.  What a great concert.  The energy was great.  You could tell they loved what they were doing and it reflected in the audience.  Cheryl and I had a great time.

They mentioned that someone sent them a text that 50 years ago, this same month they had played at the Tulsa Civic Center.  They had already been together three years then.  53 years and still going.  They REALLY love their jobs. You may say “being a rock musician with that kind of money, who wouldn’t?”  Think of the all the days away from home.  Traveling on the road, staying in hotels and on the bus.  Eating out.  No real time to yourself.  Going out every night playing the same songs you have been playing for fifty years.  Doesn’t sound like it’s all roses to me.

I’ve written in my weekly thought on Facebook about what if we loved our jobs.  What if after 50 years of doing the same thing we could have the energy and enthusiasm the Beach Boys do.  You will spend over a quarter of your life at your job, almost half of your time awake is at work.  Wouldn’t life be great if you loved it?  Wouldn’t it be great if you could wake up and look forward to going to work?  I’m here to tell you, you can!  I have for 36 years, 31 at Walgreens and 5 at Ebsco.  I do and always have loved my job.  That doesn’t mean I love every minute and every detail of it.  After all it is called “WORK”.  But when it is all added up I love my job and the people I work with.

Some of that comes from finding the right job for you, although I’m not sure I wouldn’t make any job into a job I loved.  Part of that is the people you work with but a big part of how they interact with you comes from your attitude toward them.  I think my co-workers are some of the best people on earth.  Their hard work and contributions goes toward my paycheck, how could I not love them.  So what makes a job lovable? It’s attitude.  I find ways to get a sense of accomplishment in what I do.  I look for the relevance and why it benefits my co-workers and company.  I find ways to challenge myself.  My job gives me a sense of self-worth and accomplishment.  It gives me purpose.  I learn every chance I get and with everything I learn it opens new opportunities for me.  I don’t wait for someone to teach me, I go out and ask.  The sky is the limit.

So when you go into work the next time, think about how you feel about your job.  Think about how your life would be if you loved your job.  Then figure out how to make that happen.  Tell your supervisor you want to learn and try new things.  Perfect your skills at your primary task.  Interact with your co-workers and get to know them.  With some effort on your part you can love your job too.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some reading to do.  I’m learning something new for work.

 

JUST SAYING…..

 

Todd

Todd

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

