Eleanor_Roosevelt_in_Calgary,_Canada_-_NARA_-_196775I ran on to this quote from former First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt;

“Do one thing every day that scares you”

Living by this rule could change your life!

I’m not talking about base jumping off the highest building in your city or riding a champion bull at the rodeo.

Maybe it’s a  new project you have never done before.  Getting up in front of a small group and giving a presentation. Trying a new food.  Even telling a joke.  Whatever that scares you.

How much richer would your life be?  How many times have you heard people, looking back saying “I wish I would have ……”.  Regrets.  Think of the sense of accomplishment you get when you conquer one of your fears.  No more stories about how you “almost”.  Rich, lively stories about when you did.  Maybe you will find a latent talent you didn’t know you had.  Maybe you’ll receive a promotion after giving a presentation.  Maybe you’ll discover a new favorite food. And Maybe you’ll simply be able to say I tried that, and that’s enough.

 I remember as a child watching the “Zingo” roller coaster at Bells Amusement Park.  It looked so exciting and so scary.  I couldn’t get the courage to go, UNTIL I was at the park with a young girl I liked.  She loved roller coasters.  NO WAY I was going to tell her I was scared!  Needless to say I went and had the time of my life.  I now LOVE coasters.  The bigger and faster the better.  I would have never know that if I didn’t face my fear that day.  Now I can tell my stories about riding the biggest, the tallest and the fastest coaster to anyone willing to listen.  I did one thing that scared me that day and I’m glad I did.

I remember the first time I was asked to make a presentation in front of all the managers in my district for Walgreens.  Me, a new manager just turned 22 years old.  I was terrified.  I did it and it went well.  At Ebsco I need to speak in front of my co-workers often and am perfectly comfortable.  All going back to that one day at Walgreens I did something that scared me.

I remember the first time I got on a stage and played in a band.  It was senior talent show and man was I scared.  We opened with “Working Man” by Rush.  The song started with me on the guitar, out front feeling alone and exposed.  I hit the first chord and people starting cheering!  Cheering for me!  What a Rush, excuse the pun.  We weren’t great but what an experience.  Now I loving playing for people.  The rush of the crowd is almost intoxicating ( I’m not so sure those listening feel the same way, but this is about me).  Playing the guitar is now one of my greatest loves.

I can’t say everything I have done that scared me has had such positive consequences but I have the satisfaction that I tried it and the knowledge of what I don’t like from experiencing it.  I’m still a better person for trying it.

Think about the new you after facing your fears.  The confidence level you will have.  The experiences you will be able to draw on. The new things you’ll find that you love.  It doesn’t need to be something big.  Just something you are afraid to do.  Think about it.  Scare yourself.  You’ll be glad you did.

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to go find something scary.

Just Saying…..

TODD

todd guitar

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

