paint

Recently my office at Ebsco received a little water damage.  A little?  We were forced to tear out the molding and lower sheet rock for the hallway, kitchen area, two bathrooms and my office wall.  It was a mess.  The lower half of all the walls were open to the wall studs.  Fortunately our sales manager, Cris Simpson is quit the self-taught handyman.  He put up sheet rock, mudded and sanded, put up paneling and molding, painted and brought it all back with the help of others at the shop.  He did a great job! Thank you Cris.  It looks great and you saved us some serious cash!

My wife, our CEO, Cheryl decide she wanted to pitch in and painted my office.  She even painted the ceiling tiles one color and the wall another.  She cleaned blinds and make it look new.  Thanks Cheryl!  I really do appreciate it!  Not many places the CEO paints your office.

I began moving back into my clean, freshly painted office Friday. Light grey walls with a shade darker ceiling tiles.  It was light, bright and looked great.  After I move most of the furniture I sat down and looked around.  WOW!  It was like new.  It energized me.  A fresh coat of paint and I was fired up and ready to go.  I can’t wait for Monday.  I’m going to finish hanging things on the wall. put up a shelf and do the finishing touches.  I look forward to getting back to work in there.

As I sat there it got me thinking. A fresh coat of paint had that much impact.  What about a fresh coat of paint on me?  I have been really stressed lately with changes around Ebsco.  I’ve taken on new responsibilities with personnel changes, and we have rearranged many people’s jobs.  I know the stress has shown and impacted those I work with.  I’ve become dingy and lost some of my positive energy.  How about a fresh coat of paint to re-new and revitalize me?  I don’t mean taking a roller and cover myself with paint.  I mean a new attitude.

Sometimes we need to splash a fresh coat of paint on ourselves.  Brighten ourselves up and get a fresh perspective.  I looked at my new responsibilities and discovered I was getting a handle on them.  I was settling into my new challenges and making it work.  What I needed was a fresh coat of paint on my attitude.  I could choose any color I wanted. I could handle the new tasks any way I wanted.  I can make them mine.  I can do them in a way that was rewarding and would positively impact Ebsco.  I had an opportunity to remodel my new responsibilities to suit me and benefit the company.  That sounded pretty good! A new coat of paint.

When your faced with change or getting overwhelmed it sometimes requires a new coat of paint.  A new way looking at things.  You can always find a different approach that will change the negative to a positive.  It just requires you to be flexible, step back and look at the situation.  Sometimes the act of painting is messy.  You need to tear things apart and look at them closely.  You will take parts from here and add them there.  It can be a very messy process, but when you’re done and put everything back together again it looks great.

The changes I am facing have prompted me to take on a new color.  It is bold and exciting.  It suits me and the path I want to take. It’s not the changes in m job, it’s how I approach the changes in my job.  I decide each day that it will be a good day and then figure out how to make that happen. So if you see me in the future and I look different, it’s just a coat of paint.

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to go clean out my paint brush.

Just saying…………

TODD

Todd

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

One response »

  1. Tech Talk says:

    Paints are indeed a splash of fresh life in offices and in our personal homes.. Nicely written article, emotional and contextual.. keep blogging..

    Like

Leave a Reply

