Write a blog? Seriously? I can barely write a grocery list.

My husband has been writing a blog for our company for years now. He didn’t start this because he is secretly Ernest Hemmingways’s long lost relation that has to share his passion for writing. No, it all had to do with getting our company on a better page on Google searches. Honestly. Ok. Have fun with that! But he HAS had fun with it. His typos are part of the charm…”but I used spellcheck!”.

Now I have been “encouraged” to guest write on our company blog. A family business, I am the CEO. If you knew me you might think that’s a bit of a stretch. It wasn’t like I started a spring manufacturing company. I cannot make a spring. I inherited the position. That was 16 years ago. We are Women Owned Business certified, ISO certified, and probably in the top 5 quality spring companies in the US if not the world. Bragging? You bet. Not on myself but the people I surround myself with. The talent at Ebsco is phenomenal. I could not be more proud if these were my own kids…oh wait, a couple of them are…and quite a few more are family. Challenges working with family? Not at all…I just peed myself typing that! Of course there are challenges working with family and add to that my husband joined our team four years ago after a long career in corporate America. Challenges working with your spouse? Again I peed myself. You’ve heard that if you work with your spouse you count the years you’ve been married in dog years, right?

moi 400pxls wht nourl

I read blogs. Moms Who Drink and Swear (I could write an entire article on my potty mouth), Insane in the Brain Mom. They are hilarious. Blogs about sick kids…you think you have it tough? Read about Tripp Halstead and a few kids with cancer and your tough day seems pretty trivial. I started reading Shut Up About Your Perfect Kid not long ago. Wow! What a great place to get advice about your special needs kiddos. I would have done anything to have had such resources and a feeling of not being alone while raising my own special needs child. That led me to some autism blogs. Raising my 4yo grandson who is on the autism spectrum, I was intrigued. Autism Daddy, Autism with a Side of Fries, Bacon and Juice Boxes…I cannot say enough about how these blogs have taught me, comforted me and mostly made me laugh at our situations.

mrWF-Logo-New-with-Brought-To-You-By for PD

One of my all time favorites is Mike Rowe’s blog. Remember the show Dirty Jobs? That’s Mike. He has a foundation, mikeroweWORKS.com, to raise money for scholarships for young people to learn a trade…not a 4 year degree, a mountain of student loan debt and no positions in the field you majored in. A trade. There is a giant deficit of skilled workers in America. I see this daily trying to hire qualified employees. He has what he’s calls The SWEAT pledge (Skill & Work Ethic Aren’t Taboo). And yes, I have a personalized, autographed copy that is one of my most prized possessions:) Mike and his foundation epitomize what I feel will save this country. Bring back manufacturing that is being done overseas. Bring pride in a job well done, whether you are welding pipeline or cleaning sewers. These jobs are what built this country and should have the respect a banker or business executive has…and maybe more. I could go on and on…oops! I already have.

My focus these days is training our next generation to talk the helm if some of us old timers leave this earth…or just want to retire. Leaving a mess and a mountain of debt was my father’s way. He wanted me to learn the hard way and wasn’t about to make it easy. True conversation; “Daddy, I don’t think we should expand the building any more because of the cost”. His reply; “Keep expanding. You will be paying for it, not me…I will be dead!” And he was completely serious.

I have a zillion Ebsco stories (most can’t be written here without incriminating myself and others) but I can share a few. It’s been mentioned, more than a few times, we should have our own reality show.
What I hope I can do is share our family. And I don’t mean just the people who are related to me. Ebsco is my “family”. To me, it is a living, breathing entity. It gives life to springs for the landing gear on the plane you flew on last week, or that Stairmaster you used at the gym, or the John Deere tractor you passed on the highway. But that’s not what I really mean. The life is the people of Ebsco. From the office all through the factory. A better group you will never find. A more talented, proud and hard working group doesn’t exist.

I will write another blog one of these days, depending on how badly my coworkers make fun of this one. Until then…

Boss Lady

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

