happy-new-year-wallpaper-2014

 

It’s a few days before New Years and let me be the first to wish you a Happy New Years, excluding all the auto dealers and their endless commercials.  Since they didn’t get you at Christmas with their BIGGEST SALE of the year they all now have their BIGGER Sale for New Years.    Sorry getting off track there.      Since it is New Years I thought about doing a Blog about my resolutions or what I’m thankful for going into 2014.  Then I decided that these are personal and none of my readers would be interested on top of the fact it is Ebsco’s Blog.  THEN I decided since I’m writing it, I can write about anything I like and decided to do a list of things I’m thankful for.

New Year’s Resolution ONE; I need to be more decisive.

I have and have had so much to be thankful for over the years.  I all to often get wrapped up in myself and do not realize all I have to be thankful for but when I stop, look at my life, I find that I am incredibly blessed.

I have to start with my parents, they were there first and are still there everyday.  Some might say I grew up sheltered in life.  Almost a Leave it to Beaver childhood. (If you don’t know what Leave it to Beaver is trying watching the OLD TV shows are you cable)  I can’t quite say that, but it is probably closer to the truth than I would like to admit.  We were not rich but far from poor.  I never wanted for anything.  My father had a great job and mom stayed home with me.  My parents never missed one of my sporting events, and there were plenty.  They never missed a school play or presentation.  They were always there.  Always were, and they still are helping Cheryl and I with Daven.  They taught me right from wrong even though I sometimes didn’t listen.  They showed me what a good work ethic offered.  They taught me how to live a good life and what was really important through their examples. Were they perfect parents? Maybe not but it would be hard to find examples where they failed.

I’m thankful for my kids. That is a long list.  I have to start with my four children, Jason, Tracy, Nichole and Lindsey.  They have brought me a lot of happiness over the years.  There was some trouble with our relationship when I re-married but we are working past that and for that I am very thankful.  They endured three cities growing up and a dad that worked too many hours.  They overcame it all and I’m thankful for them how they helped me to be a better person.  Cheryl has two boys, Nick and Charlie.  Their father is very active in their lives so they didn’t need to look to me as a father figure, but they accepted me with open arms and both make my life a better place.  My grandchildren, Kaley, Daven and Aiden.  Kayley is a teenager now and a fine young lady she has turned out to be.  I take no credit for what she has become but it’s easy to be proud of such a fine young lady as she. Adien just came along this year.  He is so cute and no not just because he’s my grandchild.  He really is.  I look forward to watching him grow and wonder over the world around him.  Daven is going on 4 years old.  He has lived with Cheryl and I since he was two months old.  He has issues with Autism and ADHD but overcomes them day by day.  He is very loving and a hug from him can literally change your day.  We are finalizing his adoption and I am committed to be the best parent/grandparent I cam be.

I am thankful for my wife Cheryl.  The first time I met her I knew she was the one.  That was almost nine years ago.  I have no idea why she choose me but there are no give backs so she is stuck with me.  What is so special about her?  She makes me happy. She makes me laugh.  That’s the simple answer.  She is my Everything.  The last two years have been difficult with my paralysis and not knowing if  I would ever walk, the rehabilitation and knee surgery’s. Not a fun time especially with a two-year old with issues to raise.  She did it.  She is strong but fragile. She is decisive but undecided.  She gives love beyond any expectation.  I so look forward to raising Daven with her.

I am thankful for my jobs, previous and present.  I learned so much in my 31 years with Walgreens. Loved it most of the time and met many of my best friends through there.  When we got Daven we knew I would need a more flexible schedule and less hours.  Cheryl hired me at Ebsco Spring.  The team at Ebsco has accepted me from the start and taught me so much.  I really feel apart of Ebsco.  I can easily say that I Love My Job! Both jobs have provided me a comfortable living and security.  I do not consider myself rich but I have a nice home and the car of my dreams.  I’ve worked hard to get where I am but you must have the opportunity and Ebsco has provided that to me.

I have  so much to be thankful for.  With my health issues overcome and Daven getting older I am so excited for what this new year has to offer. I go into it with opened eyes and heart.  I know that opportunities are only captured when they are recognized.  With friends and family at my side, offering guidance and support the possibilities are endless.

I hope I didn’t bore you with a “This is Your Life” Blog.  I wish for all of you the same opportunities and support that I have.  I wish for you to be able to see the opportunities that present themselves.  I wish for you the support to withstand the hardships that come with life.  And most importantly I wish for you the ability to see the positive in everything life presents to you.  For you to be able to find the things that make you grow and most importantly make you happy.

Now if you’ll excuse I think I’m going to get one of those Daven hugs and get this day started right.

Just saying……..

 

Todd Pfeifer

 

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

