bday cake

It’s my birthday this week. 52 if my math is correct. Birthdays just don’t hold the same magic as they did when I was younger. In younger years birthdays were always associated with milestones in my life. Either you were achieving a milestone or were one year closer to one.

In the first years it was about holding up one more finger when someone ask how old you were. It was a real challenge holding those other fingers down and showing just the right ones. You had to practice. Often you see children practicing for the next one. “I’m going to be this many on my birthday” as they struggle to display the right digits. They really look forward to birthdays.

challengergradu

Next there is five. Kindergarten, you were like the big kids then, going to school. What excitement. “I get to go to school!” For most of us, that feeling of exhilaration wore off way too soon. First grade is the next mile stone. All day School. Then Jr. High or Middle School or what ever they are calling it these days. Teenager. That is a big one. Really not sure why it is such a milestone just remember it was. High School! Intimidating but definitely a major year of your life. 16!!!!!!!!!!! DRIVERS LICENSE!!!!!!!!! For me that was the big one. I think I started looking forward to that one at age six. Yes, that is my first car, a 1970 Dodge Challenger. The year you graduate from high school. College? Freshman year, no one there to make you do it anymore. 18, legal for some things, 21, legal for everything. I remember anticipating 21 and then being so disappointed that everything was the same as it was the day before.

 

 

aarp_logo

After that what? 25? Your car insurance goes down. 30? Not a big deal. 50! You can join AARP, now that’s something to look forward to. 65? Somewhere in there you start getting the senior discount at dennys seniorDenny’s, if you are willing to admit your old enough to qualify.  A real battle between being frugal and vanity there. Drawing Social Security, if it is still there. You see after 21 all the anticipation is gone. There is no major milestones to look forward to and some you actually dread. Remember that one about getting a colonoscopy when you turn 50? Now that’s something to look forward to.

So it’s my 52nd one. I guess I should be happy for all I have seen and done over the 52 years. I do have a lot to look forward to but none of it is related to my age. So Happy Birthday to me and anyone else celebrating this week.

If you will excuse me, I’m going to have a piece of cake, guess there is still SOMETHING to look forward to.

Just Saying……

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

