brainI have been somewhat overwhelmed by personal matters the past few days and my mind seems to be a little less focused. I do not think it would be a good week to write about my business philosophy or what’s is going on at Ebsco. What I would like to write about is all of the places my mind has wandered. Life has been topsy-turvy the past few days and my mind has followed suit. My thoughts have jumped from subject to subject and then always get jolted back to reality by our three-year old.
thinkSitting here thinking about all the subjects and previous experiences my mind has visited I am amazed at all of the knowledge I have. Noooo, I not saying I’m an intellectual and anyone that knows me or reads this Blog can attest to that not being true. What I am saying, as a normal person (what ever that is) with normal experience, I am AMAZED at all of the things I know.  I’m sure if you really think about it you will be too. Start with the basic things. I know not to touch the stove because it is hot. I know that I need to wear shoes in public (except at the beach and I think they are exempt in California). I know how to work the television remote, or at least the functions I use on it. I know basic driving rules and laws, not that I always follow all of them (sometimes those speed limits feel like suggestions when I am driving the Corvette). I know family members birth dates. I know my own birthdate. I know that no two snow flakes are alike. You see what I’m saying? I could go on and on and on. It’s amazing! I’m not even talking about specialized knowledge at work, just your basic knowledge. When you stop and think about it, Everyone is a genius.
As I said, I have had pressing personal matters the past few days, and those include a family member that was hospitalized. And YES, thanks for asking (I anticipated you would) he will be alright after a tough recovery. Being at doctorthe hospital made me think about the doctors and nurses. I remember biology class and trying to memorize all of the bones (forgot all of that) or chemistry class and the periodic table (forgot that one too). Those are the VERY basics for doctors. Start with all of that and then how it all interacts and then the organs thing and how about the brain and glands and and and …. I’m getting a headache just typing all of this. And these people KNOW all this stuff and with a few test tell you what isn’t working right and how to fix it. SERIOUSLY? Then you have the ones that go inside your body and fix things. They get to play with all kinds of cool power tools (That part I would like) but the blood guts and gore, well, just leave me out. They use exotic metals like my new knees and screws and plates to mend bones back together. They replace organs with donor organs, hook them back together like replacing the motor in a 1970 Challenger. Difference is they can’t forget to hook up the radiator hose and let fluids leak all over. So tell me how do they do it? I’m still reeling over all the knowledge that I have saved up over the years and I can’t even name the bones in the fingers.
rainman 2So what is the limits of the mind? Special individuals, known as idiot savants have shown amazing abilities. One can listen to a piece of classical piano and then sit down and play it. Not work it out, not read sheet music, just sit down and play it. Another can perform unbelievable math calculations in his head. Some are great artists. Most people were introduced to these specials individuals by Dustin Hoffman’s portrayal of Rain Man in the motion picture.They all lack in other areas but found ways to unlock areas of their brains that none of the rest of us have even found. If one day we can all unlock the secrets of the remainder of our brain the future is limitless for human beings. It was formerly written that we only use 10% of our brain. That was written years ago before we actually knew what some parts of the brain did. Now scientist say we utilize all parts of our brain but we do not use them to their full potential. Everyone has muscles but only top athletes that work out and train really see the full potential of their muscles. The same may be said of the brain and in fact we do not even know how to fully exercise and train the brain.

It is obvious that the brain is an amazing organ.  It bests our greatest computers, even though IBM’s Watson did win Jeopardy.  The fact is, it took human brains to build Watson.  While computers continue to evolve they will watsonnever catch the human brain.  The human brain not only processes information and stores it. The human brain also runs all of the systems of the body. You say that computers do the same, running the infrastructure of large buildings? Yes but they are far less complex than the human body.  Beyond that the human brain gives us intuition.  Computers don’t guess.  They do not make decisions on a feeling.  The human mind does.

So if you get bored and can’t focus, stop and think about all of the places your mind takes you and all the information you have stored.  You might actually start to marvel over what a genius you really are.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go “Think” who knows what my next great idea might be.

Todd

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

