For those of you that have followed this blog, you know I have experienced health challenges the past two years. Initially I was paralyzed from the waste down, due to an infection in the spine. Recovery meant learning to walk again. This process ground away at my knees and I had to replace both of them. I was at the point of declaring victory this past month when I was hit again. The original infection returned in one of the new knees.
They removed the new knee (and infection), put me on IV antibiotics and will replace the knee again in two months. Oh woe is me. No, that is not my point. I know people are receiving much worse news every day. It’s life. My point is how this impacts my position at Ebsco.

I have always used the following as a working definition of success, as a manager, “In the absence of the manager, things progress as they would if the manager was present”.  If you have communicated your vision and standards while training behaviors and processes, things should work as well without you as with you.  Obviously it takes good people to make this work. Duirng these health challenges, my theory has been continually challenged.  Just when I get back to work full-time I seem to be pulled back.  My involvement has ranged from none (while in the hospital taking drugs) to full-time at the shop.  I’ve used my lap top at home, spent partial days at the office, teleconferences with groups and several other methods to stay in the loop.  The bottom line is that I have not been there to make the day-to-day decisions as I would like.

What have been the results?  Sometimes I’m not sure they even know that I’m gone.  Believe it or not, life exists without me.  I enter this new chapter of limited availability with the utmost confidence.  The Ebsco team makes things happen.  I’m proud of the team I work with and feel very fortunate.

So with me or without me Ebsco will continue to meet our customers needs for precisions springs to their specifications, when they need them.

Thanks Team.

TODD

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

