The end of 2012 was going pretty fantastic for me, both at work and personally. Our on time delivery to customers was at over 99%, practically impossible. Our lead times were all in the 4 week range which rivals anyone in our industry. Quality remained near perfection as always. My last knee replacement was complete and recovery was coming along nicely. Things were beginning to come into a state of normal at  home after all my medical challenges the past year. Yeh… Life was good, but….. I had to open my mouth.
Our sales manager had leads on two large customers and one mid to large customer. Every time he would mention it to me, I would get all fired up and say I want them all, go get them. The boss being more realistic and practical would say go get some of the business and we can phase it in, prove ourselves to the new customers and gradually take them all. Guess what? I got my wish. Sales brought them all over and not phased in, all of it right away! Kudos to Cris and the sales department.

My life was easy ny the end of December. All of our improvements were paying off. Scheduling was simple. Our second shift had begun and gave us flexibility we never had. Production looked like heroes with quality parts at record lead times and record on time delivery. My life was a breeze. WHAT WAS I THINKING?

I know what I was thinking. I’m not happy unless I’m moving ninety from nothing with my hair on fire. That’s where I really shine. I love a challenge and accomplishing things anyone says I can’t do. I’m right bach there again. Things had become so easy because we had worked hard to position ourselves to meet just this sort of challenge. We were prepared.

We’ve begun to look at all of our processes, which were recently improved to get where we are today and made more improvements in anticipation of the new volume. The key to all of this is that I am unwilling to sacrifice our new standards for on time delivery and lead times, regardless of additional volume. Ebsco was built on its well deserved quality reputation and it would be sacrilege to even think of compromising there. That just isn’t an option. The addition of the second shift was designed to grow and handle this type of increased volume. We have hired the fight people. We have implemented the right training. We have developed the right processes.  We’re ready.  Now, we will have the opportunity to test all of that. Everything we have done the past year has prepared for this and all I can say is “bring it on”,

I previously spoke of the business cycle where organizations grow, reach maturity and then inevitably decline if they do not reinvent themselves. Ebsco reinvented itself over the last couple of years ago and we are now starting up the growth slope again. That process is not a smooth curve as you see in diagrams. Growth is usually in stair steps. You reach a new level, optimize the organization at that point and then take another step up. This is a BIG step up for Ebsco in that process.

To say I’m excited would be an understatement. The entire team is. New ideas and improvements are flying and preparations are being made for our new customers. The most important component is always your team. If that’s in place. then anything is possible. I’m proud to say we have that covered. Our current team is as strong as any I have worked with. With her confidence in the team and leadership from our boss Ms. Dooley, and the team and supervisory staff we have, all I can say is,
This is Going to Be FUN!

Bring It ON!Ebsco Logo Final-1

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

One response »

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with
    the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it
    yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

