Since it is the week of Thanksgiving, I felt that should be my topic of this week’s Blog.

A year ago I was facing possible paralysis from the waist down. Thanks to Dr.s Lewis and Bodecker, several nurses and technicians, physical therapist and my family I am walking today.  If it weren’t for everyone’s efforts things may have been quit different for me today.  Instead of rolling about in a wheel chair today, I am just recovering from what I hope is the end of a long years process. I am thankful for the caring and abilities of those who got me where I am today,

I just returned home from the hospital yesterday.  I had my right knee replaced on Wednesday and returned home on Friday.  I had the left knee replace five weeks ago.  I am so thankful for the medical professionals that made this all possible and successful.  My surgeon, Dr Plaster for his teams great work and the staff at St. Francis.  I can’t say I enjoy being in the hospital but they make it a little easier.  Their professionalism and smiling faces were a real plus.  Everyone took time to talk to us and make sure we were comfortable. They made this all a little easier and Im thankful they were there.

And talking about “we”, I mean my wife Cheryl and I.  Cheryl stayed with me at the hospital.  She has always been there and is with me now at home waiting on me hand and foot. She has been wonderful through all my medical challenges this past year. A year ago I was in the hospital, paralyzed from the waist down and she was my advocate pushing the doctors to keep looking.  If it wasnt for her I might not need those knee replacements.  She redid the entire house to accommodate my recovery and has been there through the worst.  I don’t have the space or the time to even begin talking about how thankful I am for her.

During this time we still had Daven to raise.  He’s 29 months old and requires a lot of attention.  Cheryl often had to attend to both of our needs and I don’t know how she did it.  I know we had help.  Between my parents, Bill, Daven’s other grandfather, Betty and Kristy we had help.  They say it takes a village and we have a great one.  I am thankful to all of them for their help and love they have shared with us.

And what about Daven himself.  To say he has changed our lives would be an understatement.  He is a special little boy.  Sometimes a smile from him and to look into those beautiful eyes puts everything into perspective.  Yes, raising him has added some challenges but it has brought new purpose to our lives.  I am thankful he has become such a big part of our lives.

Since this is Ebsco Spring’s Blog I can’t forget them.  Obviously I am thankful for the company providing me a living and the insurance to cover the challenges I have encountered this past year, but at Ebsco there is so much more.  Throughout this past year both Cheryl and I have been unable to work full-time.  With week-long hospital stays and my inability to get around, we both missed a great deal of work.  The Ebsco team didn’t miss a beat,  Talk about taking ownership. But it goes beyond that. At the beginning of my physical challenges no one knew how things would eventually end.  The employees put together a scrap-book for me, Todd Pfeifer, Survivor.  It was filled with photos and well wishes from the team.  That was what really mattered, people who cared.  I am thankful to work with this group everyday.

So as I sit here recouping, thinking about turkey and pecan pie next week I know I have so much to be thankful for.  Until you face adversity you often take for granted everything you have.  In the challenges I faced this past year I have been given the opportunity to see the many blessings I have.  So, in a strange way I am thankful for the opportunity I have been given this past year to see the blessing I have.

To you and your families        HAPPY THANKSGIVING

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

One response »

  1. charnickdav says:

    You could have made room 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

