It has been two and half weeks since my knee replacement.  I’ve been driving for the last week and went to work on Thursday for the first time since the surgery.  All in all I’m pretty happy with the recovery process from such a major procedure.

As my recovery progresses and I begin tackling new tasks, I have noticed I am closely focusing on the details.  I am still getting around on a walker, which at best is cumbersome and sometimes painful.  I have been breaking down the simplest trips around the house step by step.  I consider everything I need to accomplish, plan a path and order to the tasks to make the shortest journey possible.  Back tracking isn’t an option.  Basic things, such as putting on a sock.  I consider every bend and flex of my knee to utilize the least movements possible.  Every physical task is broken down step by step to insure the least movement possible.  I attempt to have everything I need by my side.  I am using a lap top and have a brief case with all the papers and folders I might need. As a preventative step I try to anticipate needs  and address them before I sit down.  Will I need a drink or something to eat?  I gather them up and have them in place before I sit back down.

If you are a reader of my blogs you know I relate everything back to my job, as I am going to do here.  LEAN!  I’m practicing Lean recovery!!! They say companies are usually facing a disaster when they finally institute Lean.  I don’t know if a knee replacement is a disaster but it is up there on the list.  Every task I encounter  is broken down and analyzed seeking the most efficient method. Like items and processes are kept close together.  5s is established in my “work space, seeking just what I need in arms reach.  Continuous improvement is utilized as I change tasks and routines when an easier way is found.    The only thing missing is documentation.  I haven’t written any work instructions,,,,,YET.  Since I am going back in a few weeks to replace my other knee maybe I should be writing work instructions.

So what’s the point?  The point is what I have been saying all along.  This Holy Grail of manufacturing, Lean is simply common sense.  That’s it.  At Ebsco we have built a continuous improvement plan around Lean but not dictated by Lean that we call E=cs² or Ebsco = common sense squared with the squared being Lean.  It’s nothing more yet nothing less than common sense.  So before you go out and spend dollars on consultants and launch grand Lean programs, just consider,  It’s Simply Common Sense.  The principles of Lean are well worth studying. Just don’t get so caught up that you forget the common sense.

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

One response »

  1. charnickdav says:

    Sounds like your wife isn’t even waiting on you hand and foot…or knee. Not one mention of her unselfish unwaivering devotion 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

