Happy Birthday to me.  Happy Birthday to me.  Happy Birthday to me e.  Happy Birthday to me.

Yes, thank you, it is my birthday today. And since it is this will be a short one.

Since I was writing my blog today, I thought it appropriate to reflect on birthdays and what they really mean.

Are they a celebration of one more year lived.  This would make sense in the early years, before modern medicine, with life expectancies in the thirties.  Each passing year alive would be an accomplishment and reason for celebration.  With the advent of antibiotics and modern medicine and the average life expectancy growing I’m not sure another year is necessarily the focus of a celebration as it was in the past.

Is it a celebration of your accomplishments, knowledge and wisdom you have collected over the years.  I really don’t see this either.  Its possible, but the celebration is greater for a young child who has accomplished little and hasn’t had time to gain much wisdom.  So I seriously doubt this either.

With technology, more people are aware of our birthdays that ever.  If you are on Facebook you know what I mean.  My phone has been chiming at me all morning with birthday wishes from friends old and new all around the country.  Their Facebook reminded them of my birthday and they took time to wish me a happy birthday.  Friends I havent seen for years, took time out to wish me a happy birthday.  It seems there is something special about today.  People I havent been a part of their lives since high school took time to wish my day be special.  There must be something to this birthday event.

I remember how birthdays were as a child.  They were fill with wonder and anticipation.  A birthday was nothing short of a magical event.  You spent weeks anticipating that special day and re-lived the experience for weeks to come.  Birthdays were wonderous.  With age we lose the magic and become cynical.  How often have I heard it’s just another day, many times from my own mouth.  It’s not just about the gifts.  Last year, on my 50th, my wife gave me a new Corvette convertible for my birthday.  Talk about magical.  No the loss of the magic is simply the cynicism of age.  It is us who lose the magic.  We can’t see the wonder of life a child holds, but what if???  What if we could?  What if we could have the almost unbearable anticipation of a child for our birthday. What if, for only one day we could see the world with a child’s eyes. I think the world would be a much better place.

For what is the celebration of ones birthday other than a day set aside to celebrate that person.  One day to say “you are special and this is your day”.   One day for people to say you do matter and you deserve your own day to celebrate that.  One day for you to reflect on the difference you made in someone else’s life.  Charles Bailey was given a special day in a Wonderful Life.  He saw how he touched others lives and realized his life had meaning and was worth celebrating.  Everyone makes a difference is someones else’s life and deserves their own day to celebrate that.  Today is my day and I’m taking it.  It’s not about being self-important, it’s simply recognizing that you are important to others and in turn they are important to you.

Happy Birthday to me and everyone else sharing this special day with me today, tomorrow and when ever your special day is!

You Matter to Someone Special.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Now if you will excuse me, I’m going to have some of my birthday cake with friends and family and enjoy MY day.

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

