Puppies are the Cutest things in the World.

Many would argue that babies are the cutest, but honestly, some babies just aren’t cute, all puppies are cute.  They must be since I am hijacking the Ebsco Corporation Blog site just to talk about them.  I’m sure I will wind my way back to business before this is over and done with but for now I just want to talk about puppies.

My wife Cheryl, just got me a new Golden Retriever puppy for Father’s Day. His name is Colonel Beauregard.  If you have ever owned a Golden you’ll know the name just fits.  As you can see he is the cutest thing in the world.  No, no discussion or argument, it’s my blog and he is the cutest thing in the world.

I have always said that if you question the existence of God, just look at dogs.  They are the definition of unconditional love.  You can ignore and even abuse them and they will always stand by your side.  Not out of stupidity but out of unconditional love.  Humans could take a few lessons from dogs.  We profess UNCONDITIONAL LOVE until something doesn’t go our way and then we bail, “I didn’t sign on for this!”.  Maybe if a few of us having babies would take a lesson from dogs we wouldn’t have the neglect and abuse of children we see today.  Unconditional means unconditional. Dogs are better people than most people are.

Now I’m not saying that dogs don’t occasionally test our side of this relationship.  There is a reason God made them so cute.  It’s alot easier standing on the deck at 3 am waiting for Beau to “do his thing” with that cute face. It’s also easier to clean up his mess on the floor when he didn’t ‘do his thing” on the deck.  Being so cute makes it easier when he is chewing up my wife’s Brighton purse.  In fact I choose him out of the litter because he was so cute when he started chewing on her purse.  I guess that should have told me something right then and there, but…. it was so cute. At home his favorite chew toy  is our dining room table in the kitchen.  I let him chew on it since Cheryl wants to get a new one anyway.  So I guess there is a reason for their cuteness.  Otherwise how could we say “Oh how cute” as they deprive us of sleep and chew through our belongings like termites.

I was fortunate to have, as my best friend, another Golden named Jessie.  Jessie was by my side for some of the best and some of the worst times of my life.  The key was, he was always by my side.  I lost Jessie last Fall.  He went quickly on a beautiful fall afternoon with family around him.  It was his last act of unconditional love.  He went quickly not dragging out the pain and not forcing me to make the ultimate decision for his comfort.  When I was recently sick and immobilized I really missed having Jessie at my side.  As I look forward to knee surgeries and recovery, I am encouraged that I will have Beau at my side. Don’t get me wrong I love our two cockers, Coco and Buddy.  But I don’t think Coco climbing into my lap is the best therapy after knee surgery.  I do like big dogs.  Beau will never replace Jessie. Jessie was that special, once in a lifetime friend but we all have several best friends over our lives.  Beau is my newest best friend.  As for my human friends, that now have hurt feelings, thinking they were my “Best Friend” you are important to me but I do not intend on cleaning your poo off the floor at 3am. Beau is my best friend.

So what about obedience, training, crating and all of those things.  BEAU IS NOT A DOG!, He’s my best friend.  He is a full-fledged, card carrying, voting member of the family.  I’ve never threatened to crate any of my human friends, even though some at times may have needed to be, and you all know who your are.  We will teach Beau a few basic rules, probably something about Brighton purses and the pooping inside thing but beyond that Beau knows best. As far as a voting member of the family he actually holds a couple of votes because he seems to get his way most of time. Even Daven, our two-year old is learning this as you can see in the picture. Many people would say it is cruel leaving a puppy home alone when everyone works.  I would agree.  We have wonderful friends that stay in our home with Daven while we work but until Beau gets a little older he is going to work with us.  As you can see in the picture, Beau takes his responsibilities at Ebsco very seriously.  His current title is Director of Security but I’m not sure this is the best position for him, seeing that he spends most of his time asleep under my desk.  Traditionalist would argue that it is unprofessional to bring a puppy to work.  I disagree.  Do you ever just watch people around a puppy. Puppies just bring out the best in people. People are naturally friendlier and happier when a puppy is around.  Last I checked, Ebsco did not have a standing policy against smiling and Beau seems to put one on everyone’s face.  We spend a quarter of our lives at work and I think it is okay if you enjoy that time.  We encourage our employees to be pleasant with customers and create personal relationships.  I think it’s hard not to be pleasant after playing with a puppy.  As I said, puppies bring out the best in people and that’s what we want from our team.

As I stated in the first of the Blog I would eventually wind my way back around to business and here we are.  The point isn’t about puppies.  The point is in business as in life “Do things because of what is right, not because of how it looks.  Taking a puppy to work might not be “professional” and what is expected, but the results are the very thing you struggle to achieve everyday. So why not take a puppy.  If taking a puppy to work make your employees happy and they have a better attitude which reflects in their work then it is exactly the right thing to do. It’s another case of common sense.  Think about it, when you do who knows what you’ll compe up with.

So the answer to success and happiness is everyone should take a puppy to work.  But maybe ask your boss first.

I hope you noticed all the photos in the Blog.  They are Beau except the one of Jessie.  I hope you enjoyed them.  I knew few people might care what my opinion was in this blog but everyone loves puppies because….

PUPPIES ARE THE CUTEST THING IN THE WORLD.

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

One response »

  1. charnickdav says:

    A lot of people have noticed that you are happier than you’ve been since you got sick and I totally agree. A puppy in the house is the best medicine. Your wife is the smartest person you know…
    Cheryl

    Like

Leave a Reply

