I am reading a new business “How To” Book.  The team at Ebsco hates it when I read these books because it usually means I get a wild hair and create work for everyone.  I enjoy reading the books.  I usually find at least one thing in every book that I try to take out of it.  When you work in an industry that survives on continual improvement, it is important that you look to yourself first.  I hope the things I try to assimilate (cool word ha?,  I stole it from Star Trek) into myself are part of my continual improvement.

I am currently reading “Mastering the Rockefeller Habits, What you must do to increase the value of your growing firm” by Verne Harnish.  Rockefeller Habits? I could use a couple million of those, right?  I have just begun reading it but it looks to be a good book with things I will want to incorporate into my work life.    So as I write this blog do not see it as a denouncement of this book.   I am writing about the entire category of business how to books.

If you notice in the very title of this book, the author states “What you MUST DO” I MUST DO what Mr. Harnish says or I will not be able to increase the value of my firm.  I MUST do what is inside this book or we are surely destined to fail, no chance, it’s over now.   WOW!  I’m sure glad I picked up this book or we would have been in real trouble at Ebsco Spring .  I have saved the company….right?  I began thinking of the other books I have read.  Most of them had information that I had to have and strategies I must launch immediately or, or, or, or what.  Society as we know it will cease to exist?  That’s a lot of responsibility to put on one guys head.  I mean I’m a pretty responsible person that follows through but to give me the responsibility for protecting the very fabric of our society is a just too much.

OH NO!!!!  I just had a chilling thought!  I have read a lot of these books but there are millions of them out there and I haven’t read all of them.  Do they have things in them I MUST DO?????  If so, and I havent read them, how do I know all the things I MUST DO.  Oh this is insane.  Now I’m responsible for society and I havent even been given all the direction to do the job.  Its kinda of like baby sitting but they wont tell you where the baby is,  its you job to find them.

Okay,  relax.  Ssociety isn’t going to collapse if you miss something out of one of these books.     Whew,  I feel a little better, but is Ebsco still going to fail if I don’t know what is in the other 22,983,543 books?  I don’t think the boss has read all of them either so we’re in trouble,  right?.  We must be in a lot of trouble.  We can’t be accidentally doing all the things we must do without knowing we must do them.  I’m sure we are not because I find ones we are not doing in every new book I read.  Soooo maybe Ebsco will survive without all of the must dos in those books.

Then that just leaves me.  It’s me that MUST DO.  It’s me that is missing all of the things I am supposed to be doing that I didn’t even know I was supposed to do.  It’s ME,  I’m the one that’s failing.  Until I get time to read the other 22,983,543 business how to books I will continue to be a failure.  I wished someone told me that I had failed so I could have quit working so hard.  Maybe I’ll take off a couple of weeks and see if I can scan through them all.  Damn, some of them are probably even out of print.

Or maybe, just maybe they aren’t must dos.  Maybe some of them are absolutely don’t dos for you.  I think for you is the key.  Maybe its up to you to find the right things at the right time for you and your organization.  Blindly applying a bunch of other people’s must dos will keep you busy but wont allow you to focus on what is really right for you, now.  Books are great, as long as you don’t take them too seriously.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

