BLOG   weB LOG.  Blog is short for web log.  Wikipedia defines it as a personal journal posted on the World Wide Web consisting of discrete entries (“posts”) typically displayed in reverse chronological order so the most recent appears first.  Seems awfully basic for something that has gained such power.

Blogging began rapid growth in the 1990s when web publishing tools (programs that allowed non computer geeks like me to post to the web) came available.  Prior to that you needed to understand HTML or FTP to publish to the web.

Most blogs encourage reader comments ( I would if I had any readers) so they are considered a form of Social Networking.  Another form of communication with no human contact.  No ability to read tone and body language.  A bunch of uneducated writers, unable to use words to convey actual emotions, telling you what they think.  WOW!  I’m glad it got here as soon as it did.  I knew text messaging and email just weren’t enough non-personal communication.

Blogs have overtaken many other forms of communication as the authority.  Many people look directly to Blogs for their source of news.  They trust Bloggers more that the media (OKAY  I don’t have a problem with that).  In the political arena Blogging is a must.  Candidates use Blogs to communicate their opinions (sorry,  the opinions of whoever writes their blogs for them,  they are much more interesting anyway), content of speeches (written for them by someone else) and their platform (created by the party and their campaign managers).  The Blog has become a tool allowing the voters to really get to know the candidate (YEA RIGHT).  Oh well, its better than nothing.

Companies use blogs as an essential part of the marketing campaign.  They publish information about the company and products, while encouraging feedback directly from the customer.  One things companies have discovered is the customer will tell it like it is on the Internet.  They also troll other blogs searching for mentions of their company.  Internet companies have been created that do nothing more than search the Internet for company mentions and get paid well for it.  Companies and political candidates pay handsomely to learn what people really think of them, allowing them to re-invent themselves into something complete different.

As of February 16, 2011 their were 155 million published blogs in existence.

My question is;

WHY DO ALL THESE PEOPLE THINK THEY HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY THAT ANYONE ELSE WOULD WANT TO HEAR? 

SERIOUSLY!  I mean obviously I have something to say but what about the rest of you.  Do all of the Bloggers have such a sense of self importance that they think talking to their friends and co-workers isn’t enough?  Do they think that the rest of us can’t go on if we miss out on something they said? 155 million people with something so important to say they MUST get it out to the world on the Web.  Thank God they have translators on these things so they can spread their word in every language.  We sure wouldn’t want a mountain Sheppard in Romania to miss your Blog about the impact of indiscriminate spending within the sixth ward public school district in Upper Poobut Oklahoma.

And what about all the readers? (Seriously, what about you, why aren’t you reading mine?)  Do the readers have so few friends that the only interaction they have is on line.  Are they shy and find it difficult to strike up a conversation at the water cooler so they go on line instead?

I poke some fun at all this but I really believe it is all somewhat addictive.  I started my Blog to support the company web site and social media platforms to assist the SEO effort.  Honestly, that is why I started.  But now that I am into the process I actually enjoy writing these.  I am thrilled when another Blog picks up one of my posts to share in their larger Blogs.  I get excited anytime I get a comment from a reader. (It happened once)  I even get excited when my wife tells me I wrote a good Blog that week.

This blog has become much more for me than a part of Ebsco’s SEO effort.  It has become an outlet for me to share victories and defeats at work and have a little fun with the efforts in between. It has given me the opportunity to step back and look at things from a distance and then hopefully share a unique angle to them.  If it accomplishes nothing else, it forces me to think about why.  As I try to put the whats into words, I am forced to look at the whys that drive them. This allows me to look at how I react to those whys and hopefully through that understanding become a little better who.

Even though, a few readers would be fun.

About Ebsco Spring Company

Ebsco Spring Company manufactures precision springs. Ebsco Spring was established in 1941 in Tulsa Oklahoma. Ebsco Spring manufactures custom springs for a wide variety of industries including fluid power, oil and gas, aerospace, defense, medical and others.

Leave a Reply

